RSS

Decorating Gourd Craft for Kids

22 Jul

Birdhouse gourds, a rainy day, bored children and leftover craft supplies can create a one of a kind piece of art. A fun craft for kids and adults.

IMG_1420

Birdhouse gourds are as easy to grow as pumpkins. They do require a great deal of space because they yield several gourds per plant.

IMG_1421

The gourds need to sit in a cool, dry location. When you can hear seeds rattling, they are ready to craft and decorate.

IMG_1422

I never throw anything away and love to decorate with elements of my past or anything with significant meaning in my life. I used to collect stamps as a hobby with my father and never knew what to do with all of these treasures.

IMG_1423

This birdhouse gourd will sit in my old world style room, so the stamps will add to the richness.

Purchase decoupage at your local craft store and start adhering to gourds. since I am an avid scrapbooker, I have torn antique scrapbook paper for the background.

IMG_1424

Antique scrapbook stickers were also used to embellish the gourd.

Older photographs were inherited and my mother and father are now integrated into my decor.

IMG_1426

Tearing the pictures makes it much easier to adhere.

IMG_1427

Piano music books were handed down from my great Aunt who used to compose and perform in the early 40′s in Buffalo, NY lounges and bars.

IMG_1438

Flowers from my garden were pressed and dried and adhered to the gourd. I also have a suitcase full of costume jewelry from over the years. One gold strand was wrapped around the stem. Ribbon and yarn also adds to the piece.

IMG_1442

Ribbon and yarn adds more dimension to the piece.

IMG_1443

A very unique accessory to display in an old world or shappy chic style room.

IMG_1444

Have fun with your gourds and plant them now.

Happy Planting!  www.dianadigsdirt.com

Diana Gardner-Williams

Landscape Design and Installation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Decorating Gourd Craft for Kids

  1. rebekah:-)

    July 22, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    diana, your gourd is beautiful!:-)

    and created out of such wonderful memories!:-)

    grand idea!:-)

    thank you:-)

    rebekah:-)

     
    • diana gardner-williams

      July 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm

      Hello Rebekah,

      I just took a lookie at your website and I had no idea there was a guild for pressed flowers.
      I love the detail in your pictures. Thank you so much for sharing!!

      Happy Planting and Pressing to you
      Diana

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

